Six Faults

His Divine Grace Om Vishnupad
Srila Bhakti Nirmal Acharya Maharaj
15 October 2019, Kolkata, part 4


I always try to serve Gurudev's mission, I always think about Gurudev's mission, but in the meantime some bad elements also come. I have very much problem with that, you can say I am an example of bad elements otherwise why am I known all over the world as an angry man? I am always angry, I always chastise everybody. The opposition group chastises me so much now, but Gurudev has given me so much patience much—I always tolerate everything and do not do anything to them.

Srila Rupa Goswami Prabhu says that there are six obstacles—atyahara, prayascha, prajalpa, niyamagraha, laulancha, janasangancha—and these six elements, six faults destroy one's devotion.

Atyahara means too much hoarding. Formally, it means eating too much or keeping something aside. For example, you have money, but you do not spend it on Deities or devotees. You must depend upon the Lord—He will give you everything. Srila Bhakti Siddhanta Saraswati Thakur also writes that atyahara means collecting too much for yourself, for your own enjoyment, keeping something aside for yourself.

Prayascha means giving too much time for your enjoyment, for your family enjoyment, for your own interest, etc.

Prajalpa means unnecessary talk. Always talk little, not so much, always be mitabhasi (মিতভাষী, reticent, reserved)—always talk little. Too much talking is a very bad habit.

Niyamagraha means not giving respect, not giving attention to that which is favourable to devotion; always neglecting what is favourable to devotion.

Janasangancha means always mixing with outsiders, non-devotees.

And laulancha. It means being chancal, being always restless, fickle-minded.

These six types of faults destroy devotion. Srila Rupa Goswami Prabhu told that.



— : • : —





{ 2001  |   2002  |   2003  |   2005  |   2009  |   2010 }
{ 2011  |   2012  |   2013  |   2014  |   2015  |   2016  |   2017  |   2018  |   2019 }

Listen online:

Download (1.3 Mb)



'May Krishna Always Bless You'
'Not everybody has that kind of fortune, not everybody can do service, not everybody can join service and do proper preaching. Preaching is the main thing: many people can make a temple, but it is necessary to preach.'


Sri-krsna-chaitanya prabhu jive daya kari'
'Sri Krsna hears the prayers of one who surrenders in this six-fold way.'
শ্রীকৃষ্ণচৈতন্য প্রভু
জীবে দয়া করি'

Everyone can run with a good person. Who can run with a bad person,
he is the best person!