Transgressing and Trespassing

His Divine Grace Om Vishnupad
Srila Bhakti Nirmal Acharya Maharaj
Caracas, Venezuela
21 September 2009


Question: Is there Gaura Nitai or Lord Nityananda only in Ekachakra?

No, Gaura-Nitai. If it is only Nitai, He cannot be happy. Nitai will not be happy without Gaura and Gaura will not be happy without Nitai. It is called ardha-kukkuti-nyaya (অর্ধকুক্কুটী-ন্যায়, half-hen logic).

In Bengal and all over India there is a tradition to make what is called asta-prahara kirtan—a hired party comes to a house and does a twenty-four-hour non-stop kirtan, chanting Hare Krishna maha-mantra. It happened in Shyamananda Prabhu's times, and now too.

One day, the brother of Srila Krishna Das Kaviraj Goswami (the author of Sri Chaitanya-charitamrita) brought a hired kirtan party to their house in Jhamatpur, there was also a pujari who did puja. The pujari worshipped Lord Nitai very much (not Gaura), and Krishna Das Kaviraj Goswami's brother chastised the pujari very much for this. Then, he called another pujari who did not have affection for Nitai, and Krishna Das Kaviraj Goswami chastised his brother, "Why do you love Gaura but have no affection for Nitai? It is not good! Why are you not worshipping Nitai? Why are you worshipping only Gaura?" That night Krishna Das Kaviraj Goswami dreamed that Nitai was calling him, "Please come! Come to Vrindavan!" The next day he left...

It is an offence if you worship only Gaura without Nitai. Just as it is an offence also if somebody worships Krishna without Radharani.


Question: Why do we worship first Mahaprabhu, then Krishna and Radharani?

That is a high conception. Gaura-Nitai, Krishna-Balaram is sakhya-rasa; and Radha-Krishna and Mahaprabhu is madhura-rasa. Our Deities' name is Guru Gauranga Gandharva Govinda-sundar. Gandharva, or Gandharvika, means the mood of Radharani that associates with a peacock moving its leg to the side in a particular way—Krishna is always attracted by this mood of Radharani, always likes it. As I said, this is a high conception.

There is santa-, dasya-, sakhya-, vatsalya-, and madhura-rasa. Nitai-Gaura is sakhya-rasa, vatsalya-rasa is Ma Yasoda, Nanda Maharaj, and madhura-rasa is Radha-Krishna's pastimes, and it a very high conception. Always be careful with madhura-rasa.

One foreign devotee once asked Gurudev, "Gurudev can you tell something about Radha-Krishna's pastimes?" Do you know what answer Gurudev gave? Everybody was surprised to hear it. Gurudev said, "If you hear Radha-Krishna's pastimes, you will be pregnant."


— ‹ ÷ › —




{ 2001  |   2002  |   2003  |   2009  |   2010 }
{ 2011  |   2012  |   2013  |   2014  |   2015  |   2016  |   2017  |   2018  |   2019 }

Listen online:

Download (1 Mb)



Simple-Hearted and Sincere Service
'Sometimes we lose our patience and think, 'Oh, I have been in Krishna consciousness for so many years, but I am not getting the result.' Of course: if you make so many offences, if you have so much deceitful devotion, how will you get the result?'


Jaya 'guru-maharaja'
'You are endowed with inconceivable genius, affection, gravity, and magnanimity. You are a thunderbolt atop the mountain of mundane knowledge, and the conduit for divine revelation.'
জয় ‘গুরু-মহারাজ’

Mercy comes from above, but your pot must be empty—you must remove the ego.